Haugsholmen Lighthouse

Haugsholmen Lighthouse
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Haugsholmen Lighthouse

  • Haugsholmen (aka Frekøy) was established in 1876 and automated in 1979.
  • Haugsholmen lighthouse with a focal plane 20 m (66 ft); white, red or green light, depending on direction, occulting twice every 10 second.
  • The lighthouse stands 10 meters (33 feet) tall, and  it is 19.7 meters about the sea level.
  • The station consists of the  cylindrical tower with lantern and gallery  attached to one corner of a 2-1/2 story keeper’s house.
  • This lighthouse painted red, house white.


Haugsholmen Lighthouse is located at the western tip of the tiny island Vestre Frekøy, an island in the Vanylvsfjord about 10 km (6 mi) west of Larsnes, in the municipality of Sande in Møre og Romsdal county. This Island is approximately 48 kilometers (30 miles) southwest of Ålesund. Accessible only by boat.

Haugsholmen condition and status

Although Haugsholmen is an active lighthouse, the house was reported to be abandoned and deteriorating.

In 2007 it was purchased by Sande Kommune. A preservation society, Forening for Frekøy Fyrstasjon*, has been formed to work for the restoration of the station. • http://www.proff.no/selskap/foreining-for-frekøy-fyrstasjon/kvamsøy/museer-og-samlinger/Z0IC07BB/ 

Sande Kommune (municipality)

Sande is composed of many islands including Sandsøya, Kvamsøya, Voksa, Riste, and part of Gurskøya (which is shared with neighboring Herøy). The island municipality sits north of the Rovdefjorden and east of the Vanylvsfjorden. The Haugsholmen Lighthouse sits in the southwest part of the municipality.

Additional images of Haugsholmen Lighthouse:

Møre og Romsdal

  • Møre og Romsdal  is a county in the northernmost part of Western Norway. It borders the counties of Sør-Trøndelag, Oppland and Sogn og Fjordane. The county administration is located in Molde, while Ålesund is the largest city.
  • The name Møre og Romsdal was created in 1936. The first element refers to the districts of Nordmøre and Sunnmøre, and the last element refers to Romsdal. Until 1919, the county was called “Romsdal amt”, and from 1919-1935 “Møre fylke”.
  • Without including the many small automatic signals that dot the area and aid navigation, there are 23 major lighthouses in Møre og Romsdal. This high concentration can be accounted for by both the importance and quantity of sea traffic here as well as the inherent dangers of navigating amid the many islands, islets and skerries along the way. See an article about these many lighthouses.
  • Traditionally, the county has been divided into three districts. From north to south, these are Nordmøre, Romsdal and Sunnmøre. Although the districts do not have separate governments and despite modern road, sea and air connections throughout the county, the three districts still have their own identities in many ways. Historically speaking, connections have been stronger between Nordmøre and Sør-Trøndelag to the north, Romsdal and Oppland to the east, and Sunnmøre and Sogn og Fjordane to the south, than internally. Differences in dialects between the three districts bear clear evidence of this. Due to geographical features, the county has many populated islands and is intersected by several deep fjords. Due to its difficult terrain, Møre og Romsdal has been very dependent on boat traffic, and its main car ferry company, MRF, has existed since 1921.

Highlights of the area

  • Alesund
  • Molde
  • The Atlantic road
  • Geirangerfjord
  • Trollstigen

View Larger Map

You must be logged in to post a comment Login