East Norway Counties

Østfold County


Østfold is located between the Oslofjord and Sweden. It is dominated by a hilly landscape with a lot of woodland in the north and along the Swedish border, a major lake system in the central part and very dense lowland area along the coast, with a relatively large archipelago. Norway’s longest river, the Glomma, flows through the county and out into the Oslofjord in Fredrikstad.

Many manufacturing communities are situated in Østfold. Moss and Fredrikstad have shipyards. Granite from the area was used by Gustav Vigeland.

The county slogan: “The heartland of Scandinavia.” The local dialect is characterized by the geographical proximity to Sweden.

Click here for a list of lighthouses in Østfold county.



Akershus  borders on Hedmark, Oppland, Buskerud, Oslo, and Østfold. It has a short border with Sweden (Värmland). Akershus is the second largest county by population after Oslo, with more than half a million inhabitants. The county is named after Akershus Fortress.

The county is conventionally divided into the traditional districts, Follo and Romerike, which make up the vast part of the county, and the small area west of Oslo that consists of Asker and Bærum.

Embracing numerous suburbs of Oslo, notably Bærum, Akershus is one of the most densely populated areas in the country. The main national railway lines into Oslo run through Akershus with many junctions and stations such as Asker, Sandvika, Ski, and Lillestrøm. Akershus includes part of Lake Mjøsa and part of the Glomma river, and Gardermoen, Oslo International Airport.

The county also includes Eidsvoll, where the National Assembly voted the Norwegian Constitution in 1814. The estate of the Crown Prince is located in Asker.

Click here for a list of lighthouses in Akershus county.



Oslo is a municipality, as well as the capital and most populous city in Norway. It was established as a municipality on January 1, 1838. Founded circa 1048 by King Harald III of Norway, the city was largely destroyed by fire in 1624. The city was moved under the reign of Denmark–Norway King Christian IV. And it was rebuilt closer to Akershus Castle, as Christiania. In 1925, the city reclaimed its original Norwegian name, Oslo. Oslo is the cultural, scientific, economic, and governmental center of Norway.

Oslo occupies an arc of land at the northernmost end of the Oslofjord. The fjord, which is nearly bisected by the Nesodden peninsula opposite Oslo, lies to the south; in all other directions Oslo is surrounded by green hills and mountains. There are 40 islands within city limits, the largest being Malmøya, and there are scores more around the Oslofjord. Oslo has 343 lakes, the largest being Maridalsvannet

Oslo has two smaller rivers: Akerselva and Alna. The waterfalls in Akerselva powered the first modern industry of Norway. The highest point is Kirkeberget, at 629 meters (2,064 ft). Although the city’s population is small compared to most European capitals, it occupies an unusually large land area, of which two thirds is protected areas of forests, hills and lakes. Its boundaries encompass many parks and open areas, giving it an airy and green appearance.

Click here for a list of lighthouses in Oslo county.



Buskerud  borders on Akershus, Oslo, Oppland, Sogn og Fjordane, Hordaland, Telemark, and Vestfold. County administration is located in Drammen. Buskerud extends from Hurum at the Oslofjord to the Halling mountains and Hardanger.

The county is divided into traditional districts. These are Eiker, Ringerike, Numedal, and Hallingdal. Hønefoss is the district capital of Ringerike. Its western part is a mountainous plateau with forested valleys and high, grassy pastures; its eastern part contains a lowland basin with many lakes and streams. Tyrifjorden and Krøderen are the biggest lakes. Numedalslågen, the third longest river in Norway, starts in Hordaland, runs through Buskerud into Vestfold where it reaches the sea, while the river Begna flows into lake Sperillen.

Click here for a list of lighthouses in Buskerud county.



Vestfold, located to the west of the Oslofjord, borders on Buskerud and Telemark. County administration is in Tønsberg. It includes many smaller, but well-known towns in Norway, such as Larvik, Sandefjord, Tønsberg, and Horten. The river Numedalslågen runs through the district. Many islands are located at the coast. Vestfold is mainly dominated by lowland and the district also includes some of the best farmland in Norway. Here, winters last about three months, while pleasant summer temperatures last from May to September, with a July average of 17°C.

Vestfold is known for shipping and sailing. Formerly headquarters for whaling fleets, the coastal towns of Vestfold now engage in fishing and shipbuilding.

Click here for a list of lighthouses in Vestfold county.