Mid-Norway Counties

Møre og Romsdal

Møre og Romsdal is a county in the northernmost part of Western Norway. It borders the counties of Sør-Trøndelag, Oppland, and Sogn og Fjordane. County administration is located in Molde, while Ålesund is the largest city.

Traditionally, the county has been divided into three districts. From north to south, these are Nordmøre, Romsdal, and Sunnmøre. Although the districts do not have separate governments, and despite modern road, sea, and air connections throughout the county, the three districts still have their own identities in many ways. Historically, connections have been stronger between Nordmøre and Sør-Trøndelag to the north, Romsdal and Oppland to the east, and Sunnmøre and Sogn og Fjordane to the south, than internally. Differences in dialects between the three districts bear clear evidence of this. Due to geographical features, the county has many populated islands and is intersected by several deep fjords. Due to its difficult terrain, Møre og Romsdal has been very dependent on boat traffic, and its principal car ferry company, MRF, has existed since 1921.

Click here to find lighthouses in Møre og Romsdal county.



Sør-Trøndelag is a county in the area Trøndelag in Norway, bordering Nord-Trøndelag, Møre og Romsdal, Oppland, and Hedemark. To the west is the Norwegian Sea (Atlantic Ocean), and to the east is Sweden. The county is separated into a northern and southern part by the Trondheimsfjord. Slightly over 200,000 people live in Trondheim and its suburbs. The Norwegian dialect of the region is Trøndersk.

The broad and long Trondheimsfjord is at the center of this county, although the coastal areas stretch somewhat further north. The mountain ranges Dovrefjell and Trollheimen are located in the south, while the Fosen peninsula is located north of the fjord. Several of the best salmon rivers in Europe are located in the county, the largest and most famous being Gaula and Orklaelva. Dovrefjell–Sunndalsfjella National Park, Forollhogna National Park, Skarvan and Roltdalen National Park, and Femundsmarka National Park are located, or partly located, in the county.

Click here to find lighthouses in Sør-Trøndelag county.



Nord-Trøndelag is a county constituting the northern part of Trøndelag. The largest municipalities are Stjørdal, Steinkjer (the county seat), Levanger, Namsos, and Verdal.

The district of Innherred runs along the northwest side of the Trondheimsfjord, and is the most populated area, with much farming. To the south lays the district of Stjørdalen, while in the north, the larger district of Namdalen stretches from the Norwegian Sea to the mountains bordering Sweden. West of the Trondheimsfjord lies Fosen. Nord-Trøndelag borders Sør-Trøndelag to the south and Nordland to the north. The western part of the county has several large valleys and consists largely of unpopulated wilderness, including four national parks. Snåsavatnet is the largest lake, while major rivers include Namsen, Verdalselva, and Stjørdalselva.

Click here to find lighthouses in Nord-Trøndelag county.